About EGO

English Graduates at Oxford (EGO) represents the current graduate students at the University of Oxford. 

The EGO Committee helps facilitate academic and non-academic support for all English graduates at Oxford.

Organised activities include the mentoring program and peer networking events such as the weekly student lunches and end of term drinks.

Current and aspiring graduates can contact a relevant EGO Committee member about matters relating to academic affairs, library access, social events, welfare, the ORE journal, and communications to English graduates by email, social media or this website.

The English Faculty student body is committed to anti-racist practices and decolonisation at the Faculty. We invite all current and prospective graduate students to read our Statement on Anti-Racism, Decolonisation and Black Lives Matter.

Committee elections are held annually at the beginning of Michaelmas term (October).


Committee members 2023-24


  • Ashley Castelino

Social Secretaries

  • Shivani A. Pillai
  • Smriti Verma

Academic Affairs Officer

  • Malavika Pushpa Pillai

Teaching and Careers Officer

  • Dr Olivia Elliott Smith

Library rep

  • Amy Wells

Welfare Rep

  • TBC

Communications Officer

  • Mary O'Connor

MSt Representatives

  • 650-1550: TBC
  • 1550-1700: Kenzie Scott
  • 1700-1830: George Adams
  • 1830-1914: Hannah Rigg
  • 1900-Present: Tess Casher 
  • World Literature in English: TBC
  • English and American Studies: TBC 

DPhil Representatives

  • Aryehi Bhushan
  • Natasha Bradley
  • Claire Qu